icon tw icon fb icon insta
401 Grand St. Paterson, NJ 07505 | (973) 881-4000
"Rich History, Bright Future"
Freeholder Standing Committees

A Standing Committee is a permanent legislative body that considers resolutions and actions the Freeholder Board is able to take and recommends voting actions. The purview of each committee differs depending on their primary objectives. 

Finance and Administration -
The Finance and Administration Committee is responsible for day to day operations, including financing, personnel, purchasing, taxes, schools, and building operations. The committee includes Freeholder Bruce James (Chairperson), Freeholder Sandi Lazzara, and Freeholder Pat Lepore, as well as: 

  • County Administrator
  • Finance Department
  • Personnel
  • Purchasing
  • Treasurer
  • Self Insurance Fund
  • Board of Social Services, Budget only
  • Board of Taxation
  • Superintendent of Schools
Law & Public Safety - The Law and Public Safety Committee is responsible for police, fire, emergency management services, safety regulations, consumer protection, and jail/detention facilities. The committee includes Freeholder Pat Lepore (Chairperson), Freeholder Terry Duffy and Freeholder John Bartlett, Esq., as well as:
  • County Counsel
  • County Adjuster
  • Weights and Measures
  • Consumer Affairs
  • Police Academy
  • Sheriff/Jail
  • Prosecutor
  • Office of Emergency Management
  • Youth Detention Center
Planning and Economic Development - The Planning and Economic Development Committee is responsible for maintaining an inventory of properties, assisting new and prospective businesses, GIS Mapping services, and recommend zoning and other corridor based planning activities. The planning and economic development committee includes Freeholder Terry Duffy (Chairperson), Freeholder Bruce James and Freeholder Sandi Lazzara, as well as: 
  • Planning
  • Open Space
  • Economic Development
  • Housing
  • Workforce Investment Board
  • Weatherization
  • County Historian
Health & Education - The Health and Education Committee is responsible for identifying public health risks, recommending actions to address them, such as through recycling, mosquito control, weatherization, and public health outreach sessions. The Health and Education Committee includes Freeholder Assad Akhter (Chairperson), Freeholder Pat Lepore and Freeholder John Bartlett, Esq., as well as: 
  • Department of Health
  • Mosquito Control
  • Camp Hope
  • Rutgers Extension Services            
  • Recycling
  • Weatherization
Human Services - The Human Services Committee is responsible for protecting our neediest and most vulnerable residents, including mental health and addiction services, youth services, Preakness Healthcare, senior citizens, disabled Americans, and veterans. The Human Services Committee includes Freeholder Sandi Lazzara (Chairperson), Freeholder TJ Best and Freeholder Bruce James, as well as: 
  • Human Services  
  • Mental Health/Addiction Services  
  • Preakness Hospital  
  • Division of Senior Services, Disabilities, and Veteran Affairs
Public Works - The Public Works Committee is responsible for the infrastructure of the County, including roads, bridges, and public spaces. The Public Work Committee includes Freeholder TJ Best (Chairperson), Freeholder Assad Akhter and Freeholder John Bartlett, Esq., as well as: 
  • Engineering
  • Operations
  • Buildings and Grounds
  • Parks
  • Recreation
  • Golf Course
Budget - The Budget Committee is responsible for the oversight of the County budget, and with creating a fiscally responsible budget. The Budget Committee includes Freeholder Pat Lepore (Chairperson), Freeholder John Bartlett, Esq. and Freeholder Sandi Lazzara.