HomePrint FriendlyEmail Page
RSSFacebookTwitterPlay

Go To Search
Click to Home
About the CountyDepartmentsNew ResidentsOur MunicipalitiesOfficialsHow Do I...?
Notary Public

The Notary Public serves as an impartial witness to the signing of documents, attests to the signature on the document, and may also administer oaths and affirmations. The State Treasurer appoints a notary public for a five-year period and may renew the appointment for five-year increments. Candidates, who must be New Jersey residents and are at least 18 years of age, are sworn into office by the Clerk of the county in which the candidate resides. Please review our monthly U.S Passport Sites and Services Schedule... for locations and times throughout Passaic County. Complete information regarding New Jersey Notary Publics is provided in the notary manual.

Individuals who wish to become a Notary Public may seek the assistance of the County Clerk during the application process and have the oath of office administered at the Clerk’s Office.  Applications are available at the Clerk’s Office or online.  To download the application click here.

After you complete the application return it with your check for $25.00 payable to Treasurer, State of New Jersey to:

          Passaic County Clerk                
          Passaic County Administration Building 
          401 Grand Street - Room  130                
          Paterson, New Jersey 07505

Upon re
ceipt of your application and check we will forward it to the appropriate member of the State Legislature for endorsement.

After receiving your commission back from the State, please come to the Clerk's Office located on the 1st Floor, Room 130 of the County's Administration Building at 401 Grand Street, Paterson, New Jersey 07505 or at 1237 Ringwood Avenue, Haskell (Wanaque), New Jersey 07420 within 90 days of the commission date to take the Oath of Office as a Notary Public.  Office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:15 p.m. No appointment is necessary. Please arrive at the office no later than 4:00 p.m. so that our staff can assist you with any transaction.  You may also come to any of our Outreach events to have the Oath administered, please click here to view our monthly schedule.

There is a $15.00 fee payable in cash or money order to the Passaic County Clerk for administering the Oath. 

If you wish to change your name and/or address then you will need this form (click here to download the form).