HomePrint FriendlyEmail Page
RSSFacebookTwitterPlay

Go To Search
Click to Home
About the CountyDepartmentsNew ResidentsOur MunicipalitiesOfficialsHow Do I...?
History
175 Year Passaic County logoSince 1837
Passaic County is celebrating 175 years of public service and outstanding governmental and professional accomplishments. Since its formation in 1837, from sections of neighboring Bergen and Essex counties, Passaic County has been a leader in:
  • Economic development
  • Land use planning
  • Transportation
  • Industry
  • Environmental resources
  • Delivery of critical financial, technical, and logistical support to local municipalities

It is a proud tradition we will continue into the future.

Passaic County Historical Society sealCounty Landmarks
Passaic County's history and landmarks offer visitors an opportunity to take a step back in time:
  • Paterson was named after William Paterson, the Governor of New Jersey. The City of Paterson’s Great Falls Visitor Center offers historic guided walks featuring its industrial architecture.
  • Lambert Castle was constructed in 1892 for the silk manufacturer Catholina Lambert. The Castle was purchased and renovated by the Passaic County Park Commission in 1928.
  • The man-made Morris Canal ran through northern New Jersey and connected the Delaware River with the Hudson River transporting people and goods throughout the state and through the Passaic County towns of Clifton, Little Falls, Paterson and the Mountain View section of Wayne.
  • The Dey Mansion, a superb example of Georgian architecture, achieved national recognition as General George Washington’s revolutionary war headquarters in the Preakness Valley and is considered to be the “Jewel of the Passaic County Park’s Department”. Constructed between 1740-1750 by Dirck Dey, a Dutch-born planter, the mansion is an amalgam of Dutch and English influences, a rich and dramatic composition of country and urban elements that had few mid-18th century counterparts west of the Hudson River. Dey, in all probability, left the completion of the mansion to his son, Theunis. During the Revolution, Theunis commanded the Bergen County Militia. Colonel Dey offered the easterly side of the house to General Washington when the commander-in-chief used it for his headquarters in July, October and November of 1780. 

View the text of the original bill creating Passaic County in 1837.