HomePrint FriendlyEmail Page

Go To Search
Click to Home
About the CountyDepartmentsNew ResidentsOur MunicipalitiesOfficialsHow Do I...?
175 Year Passaic County logoSince 1837
Passaic County is celebrating 175 years of public service and outstanding governmental and professional accomplishments. Since its formation in 1837, from sections of neighboring Bergen and Essex counties, Passaic County has been a leader in:
  • Economic development
  • Land use planning
  • Transportation
  • Industry
  • Environmental resources
  • Delivery of critical financial, technical, and logistical support to local municipalities

It is a proud tradition we will continue into the future.

Passaic County Historical Society sealCounty Landmarks
Passaic County's history and landmarks offer visitors an opportunity to take a step back in time:
  • Paterson was named after William Paterson, the Governor of New Jersey. The City of Paterson’s Great Falls Visitor Center offers historic guided walks featuring its industrial architecture.
  • Lambert Castle was constructed in 1892 for the silk manufacturer Catholina Lambert. The Castle was purchased and renovated by the Passaic County Park Commission in 1928.
  • The man-made Morris Canal ran through northern New Jersey and connected the Delaware River with the Hudson River transporting people and goods throughout the state and through the Passaic County towns of Clifton, Little Falls, Paterson and the Mountain View section of Wayne.

View the text of the original bill creating Passaic County in 1837.