icon tw icon fb icon insta
401 Grand St. Paterson, NJ 07505 | (973) 881-4000
"Rich History, Bright Future"

Clerk to the Freeholder Board

Clerk to the Freeholder Board

  • Schedules Public Meetings
  • Prepares Agendas
  • Records Votes and Processes Resolutions and Ordinances 
  • Advertises Public Meetings in Accordance with Open Public Meetings Law
  • Acts as a Custodian of the County Seal and Affixing it to Appropriate Documents 
County government serves as the middle layer of government between the federal and state governments and the municipalities. Passaic County is governed by a seven-member Board of Chosen Freeholders. Each Freeholder is elected at large for a three-year term. The board is headed by a freeholder-director, who is selected for a one-year term at the board's annual reorganization meeting (at the first meeting of the year in January). Under Passaic County's commission form of government, freeholders discharge both executive and legislative responsibilities.


The Passaic County Board of Chosen Freeholders holds meetings at 6 p.m., with a conference agenda beginning at  5:30 p.m. Each meeting is held on the second and fourth Tuesday of the month, unless noted. The last meeting of the year will be at 10 a.m. 

In addition to holding meetings in the Administration Building, located at 401 Grand Street, 2nd floor in Paterson, the Freeholders regularly travel to other town halls to enhance citizen access to the Board of Chosen Freeholders.