icon tw icon fb icon insta
401 Grand St. Paterson, NJ 07505 | (973) 881-4000
"Rich History, Bright Future"
shape Discover and Explore head explore
Passaic County is a diverse county with a rich history and a bright future. Discover our history, our attractions, and our services. 
  • Community
  • Government
View Full Calendar
this weeks features
Posted Oct. 21, 2020
The Passaic County Board of Chosen Freeholders partnered with Perselay Associates and Janus Solutions earlier this year to work with the Passaic County Department of Human Services to perform a full needs assessment of individuals and families in Passaic County. 

Posted Oct. 19, 2020
This article includes resources for businesses and individuals to utilize during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Last Updated October 19, 2020

Posted Oct. 19, 2020
The County of Passaic and the Hudson County Division of Family Services is urging residents to beware of any solicitation made by any other agency/company/consulting group besides the Passaic County Division of Family Services, including, but not limited to FSP Consulting.

Posted Oct. 09, 2020
You can now apply for housing assistance if you suffered a financial hardship due to COVID-19 and have not been able to pay your rent or mortgage. Learn more at https://nj.gov/humanservices/coronavirus.html

shape Meet the passaic county header-board
The term “Freeholder” can be traced to the colonial period of American history. In New Jersey’s 1776 Constitution, the state vested the power to govern counties in an elected body of “men” who held or owned land outright with no debt or mortgages to be Chosen by their peers. The body was deemed the Board of Chosen Freeholders. Although there is no longer a requirement to own land and all citizens of legal age have the right to vote and hold office, the term Freeholder has endured. New Jersey has 21 Counties, and no two counties are exactly the same. The organization and structure of counties are tailored to fit their communities’ needs and characteristics. In Passaic County’s commission form of government, the Freeholders discharge both the legislative and executive responsibilities of government. The seven member board is headed by a Freeholder Director who is selected to serve a one-year term at the Board’s annual reorganization meeting held in January. Each Freeholder is elected at-large for a staggered 3-year term